Why we “halfway” homestead

I know that if you’ve started reading my blog, you are probably wondering why I called it halfway homesteading instead of some mix of being a mom, homesteading, and/or having a giant farm. In reality I would absolutely LOVE to have a giant farm, but that isn’t possible at the moment. The reality is that I have a ton of other stuff going on at the moment including the following:

I work full time in corporate America trying to move my way right up that ladder

It’s true. It really doesn’t seem like someone like myself would have a desk job, but I do. To be honest it is way more stressful than any of this other stuff that I have going on, but it pays the bills, and I see it as a challenge because I know that this is something that I can do along with everything else. I plan to work in the corporate world for quite a longer until I can purchase a farm to make that a 2nd income, and get my CPA license so that can be my primary income possibly working from home or at the very least scheduling my own hours in an office somewhere.

I’m a full time student

As exhausting as this is with working full time, I go to school full time. I’m hoping that by this time next year I’ll have my bachelor’s in Accounting with a minor in insurance and risk management.

I’m a full time momma to a rowdy 4 year old

He’s awesome, and I love him so very much. He’s my little sidekick going along with all my crazy ideas helping me plant the garden and messing up the house while I’m trying to do some crazy remodel or cook dinner. We don’t really have a lot of family that is close or able to help out much with my kiddo, so he is either at daycare or attached to my hip – which is perfectly fine with me. I want a lot more kids (maybe like 5?)

I’m a full time wife

My husband in an Army veteran. He’s just as rowdy as my 4 year old is. He’s currently in college as well.

I like to do random remodels to my house

We were in a rush to buy our first home with the husband and myself changing jobs and moving after we had our little guy a few years ago. We got a good deal on a house in an area where property value is increasing significantly, but the house could use some work. We wanted to purchase a fixer upper that was already pretty much gutted so we knew what work needed to be done, but sadly the loan we were using wouldn’t allow us to purchase something that wasn’t move in ready. Turns out the house we purchased appeared to be move in ready, but really it needs work (knock on wood no more surprises).

 

 

 

So yeah basically I went over all this because this is why we halfway homestead. I’m honestly not sure that we have the time or resources to fully homestead. Would I love to grow a ton of food in my graden every year?! Hell to the yeah I would! Lol Seriously though I have trouble planting, weeding, and watering a garden that is about 3 beds wide. No way would I be able to do much more than this. We have chickens and they’re pretty easy to care for, but rather than have another garden, I’d make more room for a few more chickens, or I’d add some pigs. One day though we’ll have all the veggies we can eat, and all the pork, chicken, and beef that came from our own land J The whole halfway homesteading thing is sorta temporary, but it is the way it is for now J

Leave a Reply

